Transferring to a Four-Year Institution

Current EOP students are eligible to transfer to a SUNY four-year college or university or an independent/private college or university's EOP or HEOP (Higher Educational Opportunity Program) within New York State. Final transfer eligibility is determined by the four-year college special programs office and is often influenced by space availability and cumulative grade point average.

EOP students who plan to attend graduate school may also apply for tuition assistance, and may be eligible for a tuition waiver based on their undergraduate cumulative grade point average.

SUNY Application

The $40 SUNY application fee is waived for those eligible for admission to EOP at a new institution. If you think you are eligible, answer "YES" to the question, "Are you applying for the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)?" If you are found to be ineligible, you will be billed for the fee.

  • Applicants who are deemed ineligible for EOP for financial reasons may still qualify for admission and for financial aid as traditional candidates.
  • Contact the Admissions or EOP office at your college choice before you apply.
  • The following campuses do not operate EOP programs: Adirondack, Cayuga County, Clinton, Columbia-Greene, Herkimer County, Jamestown, Jefferson, Mohawk Valley, Nassau, Niagara County, Orange County, Rockland, Sullivan County and Tompkins Cortland Community Colleges.
  • Please note: It is becoming highly competitive to enter many EOP/HEOP programs as a transfer student. Therefore, it is important to attend and participate in EOP activities as much as your schedule allows so the best possible reference can be forwarded to your institution of choice.

Get in Touch

Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)
Siek Campus Center, Room 120
Regular Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Summer 2024 Hours (May 20 - July 26): Monday – Thursday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.; Friday, Closed
Occasional Evening Hours by Appointment

Staff Contact