News and Events
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Press Releases

09/22/2014
Free Ice Skating at Hudson Valley Community College on Opening Weekend of Conway Ice Rink

FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Monday, Sept. 22, 2014

The public is invited to skate free of charge at the Conway Ice Rink at Hudson Valley Community College when the rink opens for the 2014-15 season on Saturday, Oct. 25 and Sunday, Oct. 26. The 18,000 square-foot rink, located in the college’s McDonough Sports Complex, offers recreational skating from 4 to 6:15 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday and from noon to 2 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Admission is $2 for children under 12 years old and $3 for adults. There is a $1 per person discount for a group of ten or more with advance notice. Skating is free for Hudson Valley students and $2 for Hudson Valley alumni, faculty and staff.

Quality skate rentals are available for all ages, toddler through adult, at $3 per pair. The facility also offers skate sharpening.

A credit-bearing class taught by Hudson Valley instructors is open to beginning and intermediate adult skaters on weekday mornings, and the college’s Office of Community Education offers children’s lessons during the week. Outside instructors provide evening and weekend lessons for all ages. For more information, call (518) 629-4850 or go to www.hvcc.edu/facilities/ice.html.

The skating season runs through Sunday, March 8, 2015. The rink is closed Thursday, Nov. 27; Wednesday, Dec. 24; Thursday, Dec. 25; Wednesday, Dec. 31; and Thursday, Jan. 1, 2015. Extended holiday hours are noon to 2 p.m. and 4 to 6:15 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 26; Monday, Dec. 29; and Tuesday, Dec. 30. Snacks and beverages are available from vending machines or you may bring your own. There is free parking in front of the complex.