News and Events
Press Releases

Hudson Valley Honors the Year’s Top Student-Athletes
Hudson’s Nate Novak Named Most Outstanding Male Athlete
Duanesburg’s Tracy Chesebrough, Columbia’s Kristina Jenkins Share Top Female Athlete Award

CONTACT: Steve Mullen (518) 629-8063
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Monday, May 21, 2007

Sophomores Nate Novak (Hudson/Hudson High School), Tracy Chesebrough (Duanesburg/Duanesburg High School) and Kristina Jenkins (East Greenbush) were named Hudson Valley Community College’s most outstanding male and female athletes of the year at its annual athletic banquet that was held today in the Bulmer Telecommunications Center.

Novak was presented the Thomas Cahill Memorial Award-given each year to Hudson Valley’s top male athlete. Novak leaves Hudson Valley as its all-time leader in wins on the pitching mound for the baseball team. He finished his career with a 16-3 record. Novak also hit .371 in his career and ranks fifth on the college’s all-time list with 96 hits. He was named the Mountain Valley Conference Player of the Year in 2007 and was the 2006 Region III Player of the Year and a First Team All-American.

Chesebrough and Jenkins were presented with the Lester Higbee Memorial Award-given each year to Hudson Valley’s top female athlete.

Chesebrough was named the 2007 Region III Softball Player of the Year after leading all NJCAA Division III pitchers with 25 wins, a 0.72 earned run average and 380 strikeouts. Chesebrough leaves Hudson Valley at the top of the list of career leaders with 47 wins and 678 strikeouts.

Jenkins won the individual all-around championship at the 2007 NJCAA Women’s Bowling Championship. She is a two-time First Team All-American and a two-time First Team All-Region III selection.

Hudson Valley’s men’s and women’s bowling coach Joe Prest was presented with the Paul F. Bishop Coach of the Year Award, which is given to the Hudson Valley coach who “exhibits the highest level of sportsmanship, leadership, professionalism and ethics, and who demonstrates the highest level of commitment to his/her sport, the athletic department and, most importantly, to the student-athletes.”

He directed each team to Mountain Valley Conference titles in 2007 and led the women’s team to a second place finish at the NJCAA national tournament.

Freshman Ryan DeSalvatore (Clifton Park/Shenendehowa High School) of the lacrosse team and sophomore Sarah Spellman (Delmar/Bethlehem High School) of the softball team were presented with the Otto Guenther Memorial Award, which is given to the individuals who “demonstrate the best combination of academic and athletic success.”

The President’s Award, which is presented to the student “whose hard work, determination, hustle and attitude have enabled them to make valuable contributions to their team, the athletic department and the college,” was extended to sophomore Katie Wolfe (Colonie/Colonie High School) of the cross country team and sophomore Ian MacMaster (Albany/LaSalle Institute) of the lacrosse team.

Education Specialist Rochelle Goldfarb was awarded the Willie A. Hammett Award for Excellence in Student Service, and Fred Nero was presented the John L. Buono Award for Citizenship for his commitment to the college and its student-athletes.