News and Events
Press Releases

Capital District Educational Opportunity Center Announces Cosmetology Style Competition Winners Photo Available

CONTACT: Marilyn Shapiro (518) 273-1900, Ext. 2226
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Thursday, March 22, 2007

Photo Available Photos Available

Eight students in the Capital District Educational Opportunity Center's Cosmetology Program took the honors in the EOC's Cosmetology Style Competition, held this month at the center's Troy facility.

Cassandra Canty won in the Fantasy Romantic category, Markita Massalle won in both the Extreme Fantasy and Bread and Butter categories, and Rosa Vidal won in the Blow-Dry and Curl category. Rounding out the winners were Cristina Acosta, Jameila Clark, Sarah Isles, April Perry and Sierra Sturdivant.

The competition, organized by Associate Professor of Cosmetology Mary-Ellen Buda, allows EOC students to show off their best hair designs on standard manikin heads. Local cosmetologists, including past EOC Cosmetology Program graduates, judged the competition, including: Simia Cowan and Jade Gibson of Hair Designers and More; Deborah Isles of The Cutting Edge; Kevin George and Daniel Nova of Bricks Barber Shop; and Yvonne Walters of Jonathon's of Atlanta.

Since 1966, the Capital District EOC, a division of Hudson Valley Community College, has offered tuition-free academic and workforce development opportunities to economically disadvantaged and educationally under-prepared New York State residents. Founded in 1953, Hudson Valley Community College offers more than 70 degree and certificate programs in four schools: Business; Engineering and Industrial Technologies; Health Sciences; and Liberal Arts and Sciences; and workforce and academic preparation programs offered through the Educational Opportunity Center. One of 30 community colleges in the State University of New York system, it has an enrollment of more than 12,000 students, and it is known as a leader in distance learning initiatives and worker retraining. Hudson Valley has more than 60,000 alumni.