Community and Professional Education
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Winter/Spring 2018 Offerings

Digital Brochure*
*requires Adobe Flash
Winter/Spring 2018 Brochure
PDF Version
Meet new people, start a wellness program, learn a craft or study for a new career.

Workshops and courses from Hudson Valley Community College's Office of Community and Professional Education offer hundreds of opportunities for personal and professional growth.

Our online registration system and digital brochure (both require Adobe Flash) make it convenient for you to search our upcoming offerings. Or, you can browse through the categories and course listings below.

Please note: For the most up-to-date information on course availability, search the online registration system or contact our office.

Contact Information
(518) 629-7339
communityed@hvcc.edu
Guenther Enrollment Services Center, Room 252

Registration Information

Nearly 200 courses to choose from!

 

Course Name Day(s) Date(s) Times
"Frankly, My Dear" The REEL Story behind "Gone With the Wind" Sat. 4/28/2018 9am-1pm
A Look at Crailo and Schuyler Mansion State Historic Sites Fri. 3/16/2018 9:30-11:30am
A Morning with Louisa May Alcott Wed. 4/4/2018 9:30-11:30am
A Tour of the New York State Capitol Focusing on WWI Wed. 3/28/2018 2-4pm
A Visit to the Burden Iron Works Museum with Michael Barrett Tues. 3/27/2018 10am-12pm
Alternative Dental Assisting Program (ADAP) Online Class 2/19/2018 Online Class
America's Constitution Mon. 4/9/2018 10am-12:30pm
An Irish Lunch and Irish Music, Too Thurs. 3/15/2018 11:30am-1:30pm
And Here's Richard With 'To Life!' - Parts III and IV Wed. 3/14/2018 9:30-11:30am
Architecture Worth Saving in Rensselaer County: 50 Years Later Wed. 4/18/2018 9:30-11:30am
Around the World in 80 Plates Mon.-Fri. 2/19/2018 1-4pm
Around the World with a View of Spring Mon. 3/12/2018 9:30-11:30am
Ballet Barre Various Various Various
Barbarian Sandbag Blast Sun. 2/11/2018 9-9:45am
Basic Decorating Tips with Cupcakes Sat. 5/19/2018 9-11am
Basic Watercolor Thurs. 5/3/2018 1-4pm
Beginner Cookie Decorating Class Various Various Various
Beginning Abstract Painting in Acrylics Thurs. 5/10/2018 10am-12:30pm
Beginning Conversational French Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Beginning Drawing - Continued Tues. 5/8/2018 10am-12:30pm
Belly Dance is for Everybody Tues. 2/13/2018 6:45-7:45pm
Birding 101 Tues. 5/1/2018 9:30-11:30am
Birthday Cards Galore Mon. 4/23/2018 6-7:30pm
Black Jack Wed. 4/4/2018 6-9pm
Body Conditioning and Toning Various Various Various
Butts and Guts Tues. 2/20/2018 5:30-6:15pm
Card Making Basics Mon. 3/5/2018 6-7:30pm
Cardio Kickboxing Wed. 2/14/2018 7-8pm
Certified Medical Administrative Assistant with Medical Billing and Coding Online Class Ongoing Online Class
Chronic Pain Facts Tues. 5/1/2018 6-8pm
Clara Barton: Civil War Nurse and Founder of the American Red Cross Wed. 3/21/2018 9:30-11:30am
Cluster of Tiger Lilies on the Woods' Edge Sat. 3/10/2018 10am-1pm
Color Me Pretty Mon. 4/30/2018 6-7:30pm
Color Mixing Wed. 5/9/2018 10am-1pm
Come See the Wild Flowers along the Corkscrew Rail Trail Sat. 5/19/2018 1-3pm
Contemporary Guitar Skills I Tues. 2/13/2018 6-8pm
Contemporary Guitar Skills II Mon. 2/12/2018 6-8pm
Conversational Japanese Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Cooking Basics for Busy Parents Mon. 5/7/2018 6-8:30pm
Cooking Basics for Kids Sat. 4/7/2018 9-11am
Core Camp Sun. 2/11/2018 6:45-7:30am
Creating WordPress Websites Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Crochet for Beginners Thurs. 2/15/2018 6:30-8:30pm
Culture Shock! An Experience Tues. 5/8/2018 6-8pm
Defensive Driving Sat. 3/10/2018 9am-3:30pm
Designing For Divas With Sarah Conly and Michael Deegan Sat. 4/21/2018 10:30am-12pm
Discover Sign Language Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Driver Education Various Various Various
Easter Brunch Made Easy Sun 3/18/2018 9:30am-12:30pm
Eliminate Pain with Total Motion Release! Thurs. 4/5/2018 7-8pm
Explore 250 Legitimate Home-Based Business Ideas Tues. 5/8/2018 6-8pm
Exploring Nature in the Early Childhood Classroom Wed. 4/25/2018 6-8pm
Familiar Songs and their Unfamiliar Stories: Discover the Roots of American Song Tues. 4/17/2018 9:30-11:30am
Fancy Fold Cards Mon. 3/12/2018 6-7:30pm
Frogs, Toads and Salamanders, Oh My! Thurs. 3/22/2018 9:30-11:30am
Gemstones Demystified Fri. 4/20/2018 10:30am-12pm
German for Everyone Wed. 3/7/2018 6:30-8:30pm
Getting Paid to Talk: Voice-Overs as a Profession Thurs. 4/5/2018 6:30-9pm
Getting Started with Google Drive Mon. 3/12/2018 6-8pm
Golden Fried Chicken Wed. 4/4/2018 6-8pm
Grammar Refresher Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
HeartCode BLS Various Various Various
High School Equivalency Various Various Various
Hi-Lo Aerobics Mon. 2/12/2018 7-8pm
Hogwarts on the Hudson Mon.-Fri. 2/19/2018 9am-12pm
How to Earn Extra Money with a Mystery Shopping Business Tues. 5/8/2018 5-6pm
Identification and Reporting of Child Abuse and Maltreatment Thurs. 3/22/2018 6-8pm
Infection Control Mon. 4/16/2018 6-9pm
Instant Italian Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Intro to Microsoft Access 2013 Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Intro to Microsoft Word 2013 Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Intro to Photoshop CC Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Intro to QuickBooks Online Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Introduction to Excel Sat. 4/7/2018 9-11am
Introduction to Folk Music Using Fiddle, Banjo, Guitar and Song Tues. 4/24/2018 9:30-11:30am
Introduction to Interior Design Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Introduction to Internet Security Wed. 3/7/2018 6-7:30pm
Introduction to Permaculture and Nature Connection Tues. 5/8/2018 5:30-7:30pm
Irish Genealogy 101 Tues. 3/20/2018 9:30-11:30am
Jazz Workshop: History and Theory with Monte Wasch Mon. 4/30/2018 10:30am-12pm
Kettlebells Thurs. 3/1/2018 6-6:45pm
Kick IT Thurs. 2/15/2018 7-8pm
Knickerbocker Family Mansion - Ghosts, Tour and Lunch Wed. 5/16/2018 10:30am-1:30pm
Knitting for Beginners - Level Two Thurs. 4/5/2018 6:30-8:30pm
Kracker Keeper Sat. 2/24/2018 10am-2:30pm
Learn to Do Your Own Alterations Mon. 4/9/2018 6-8pm
Learn to Make Sweets with Your Lil' Sweetie Mon. 4/16/2018 5:30-7:30pm
Learn to Play Mah Jongg Tues. 5/1/2018 1-3pm
Learning the "Ins and Outs" of Your Digital Camera Tues. 5/1/2018 1-4pm
Liberty vs Authority: The Supreme Court and the Bill of Rights Tues. 3/13/2018 9:30-11:30am
Life History Calendars Wed. 4/11/2018 6-8pm
Lilies on a Pond Fri. 3/9/2018 10am-1pm
Local Infiltration Anesthesia Review Course Sat. 3/3/2018 8:30am-4:30pm
Mahican, Mohican, Mohegan? Mon. 4/23/2018 9:30-11:30am
Majestic English Garden in Full Bloom Sat. 4/14/2018 10am-3pm
Make Money with a Virtual Assistant/Word Processing Business Tues. 5/8/2018 8-9pm
Making Ends MEAT Mon. 2/26/2018 6-8:30pm
Mass Incarceration, Affirmative Action and the Constitution Fri. 3/16/2018 1-3pm
Mastering Your Digital SLR Camera Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Maximizing Your Social Security Benefit Wed. 4/11/2018 6-8pm
Medical Transcription and Medical Terminology Online Class Ongoing Online Class
Medicare 101 Various Various Various
MELT Away Pain Tues. 3/6/2018 7-8pm
MELT Away Your Back, Hip, Neck, or Shoulder Pain without Drugs! Thurs. 4/26/2018 7-8pm
Metabolic Blast Bootcamp Various 2/12/2018 6-7am
Mice on Ice (Ages 3 - 5) Various Various Various
More than Friendship: The Evolving Relationship of People and Their Pets Thurs. 4/26/2018 10am-12pm
Movin' and Groovin' Thurs. 4/12/2018 7-8:30pm
Nia Tues. 2/6/2018 5:30-6:30pm
Notary Public Review Workshop - Prepare for the NYS Exam Fri. 3/16/2018 12:30-4:30pm
Notorius! Shady Ladies of 19th Century America Wed. 4/11/2018 9:30-11:30am
Nourish Your Body for Life Long Wellbeing! Wed. 4/4/2018 6-9pm
NYC Bus Trip Thurs. 5/3/2018 6:30am Departure
NYS Certification Course: Local Infiltration Anesthesia and Nitrous Oxide Analgesia (Web Enhanced Course) Various Various Various
One Pot Meals Mon. 3/19/2018 10am-1pm
Out and About Various Various Various
Paralegal Certificate Course Online Class Various Online Class
Pet CPR and First Aid Online Class Various Online Class
Pet Education Certificate Program Online Class Various Online Class
PETS Basics of Grooming School Online Class 4/4/2018 Online Class
Pilates for Runners Sun. 2/11/2018 7:45-8:45am
Pilates Mat - Beginner Various Various Various
Pilates Mat - Intermediate Various Various Various
Playing College Sports: Do You Have What It Takes? Thurs. 3/8/2018 6-7:30pm
Proctor: A Man, His Theater, Our Heritage Thurs. 4/19/2018 10am-12pm
Rylie's Tea Tray Wed. 5/9/2018 6-9pm
SAT Preparation Course Wed. 2/28/2018 7-9pm
Save Money with Extreme Couponing! Tues. 5/8/2018 4-5pm
Science Fun for Everyone Fri. 4/13/2018 9:30-11:30am
Self Care Through Yoga and Meditation Thurs. 3/22/2018 9:30-11:30am
Senior STRONG Mon. 2/12/2018 10-11am
Setting the Stage for Safer Schools: A Two-Hour Prevent Violence Training for Persons Seeking Certification in New York State Wed. 4/25/2018 6-8pm
Sewing 101 Mon. 2/26/2018 6-8pm
Sketch Club: Keeping a Nature Journal Thurs. 4/5/2018 10:30am-12:30pm
Sleepy Hollow Bus Trip Thurs. 5/31/2018 7:45am Departure
Soft Sayings Card Kit Mon. 4/16/2018 6-7:30pm
Speed Spanish Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Spring Banner Mon. 3/19/2018 6-7:30pm
Spring Musings - The Landscape Comes Alive Sat. 3/24/2018 10am-3pm
Spring Sensations - Exploring Nearby Nature Preserves Fri. 4/20/2018 10am-12pm
St Patty's Day (and day after) Meals Mon. 3/5/2018 6-8:30pm
Start anEdible Garden Online Class 3/15/2018 Online Class
Start Your Own Small Business Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Starting a Pet Business Online Class Various Online Class
Stocks, Bonds, and Investing: Oh, My! Online Class 3/14/2018 Online Class
Swahili Basics: An Introduction Thurs. 3/1/2018 6:30-9:30pm
Tabata: Burn Fat and Get Fit Sat. 2/24/2018 8:30-9:30am
TABE Pre-Tests Various Various Various
Ten Broeck Mansion Tour with Tea Tues. 5/22/2018 11am-1pm
The Elegant Art of Burlesque: A Personal Memoir Fri. 4/6/2018 9:30-11:30am
The Erie Canal - America's First Great Public Work Mon. 4/16/2018 9:30-11:30am
The First US Air Force Thurs. 4/5/2018 9:30-11:30am
The Flowers of Spring: Their Design, Color and Texture Wed. 4/25/2018 9:30am-12pm
The News with Columnist Fred LeBrun of the Albany Times Union Mon. 4/9/2018 11:30am-1:30pm
The Provincial Landscape Sat. 2/17/2018 10am-3pm
The Restoration of Pat's Dutch Barn in the Rensselaer Technology Park Thurs. 4/26/2018 1-3pm
The Saugerties Lighthouse Thurs. 5/17/2018 12-1:30pm
The Tragedy of Alexander Hamilton Mon. 4/16/2018 1-3pm
Those Necessary Unmentionables: A History of Ladies Underwear Thurs. 4/12/2018 10am-12pm
Tools and Techniques for the Professional - Entering a Client's Home Safely with a Pet in the Household Online Class 4/20/2018 Online Class
Tour and Lunch at The Skene Manor Tues. 4/24/2018 11:15am-1:30pm
Trail Walk and Tour of BASF's Urban Nature Center Wed. 5/9/2018 10am-12pm
Troy's Tiffany Treasures Fri. 4/27/2018 9:30-11:30am
Two Handled Tote Wed. 3/7/2018 6-9pm
Ukrainian Eggs, Pysanky Eggs Thurs. 3/15/2018 11am-1pm
Understanding Your Ancestry DNA Test Tues. 4/10/2018 9:30-11:30am
Veterinary Assistant Online Class Ongoing Online Class
Victoria Regina Thurs. 4/12/2018 7-9pm
Visit Historic Grant's Cottage Mon. 5/7/2018 10am-12:30pm
Walking Tour of Troy's Historic Washington Park and Surrounding Homes, and Tea Mon. 4/30/2018 10am-12:30pm
What You Need to Know to Sell Your Parent's Home Thurs. 3/22/2018 6:30-8pm
Who Killed Hazel Drew? Fri. 3/23/2018 9:30-11:30am
Wing Chun Kung Fu: A Practical System of Self-Defense Thurs. 3/8/2018 7-9pm
Writing for the Professions Mon. 2/12/2018 5:30-8:30pm
Yoga I: Foundations of Practice Various Various Various
You Can Be a Freelance Writer! Sat 5/5/2018 9am-1pm
You Put a Hex On Me Basket Wed. 4/18/2018 6-9pm
Your Passport to Retirement: The Complete Financial Management Workshop Tues. 3/6/2018 6:30-9pm
Zumba Various Various Various
Zumba Gold Wed. 2/14/2018 4:30-5:30pm