Ice Hockey

NJCAA National Hockey Tournament **Updated Results**

CONTACT: Justin Hoyt, (518) 629-7180,
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Sunday, Feb. 23, 2014

Williston State wins 2nd straight Hockey Title; Beats Monroe CC 2-0

Williston State (N.D.) won their second consecutive NJCAA Hockey Championship Sunday with a 2-0 win over Monroe CC (N.Y.) at Robert M. Conway Ice Rink.

Facing a Monroe CC team that hadn’t been shutout all season, Williston State held the Tribunes to just 13 shots in the title game. Tetons sophomore goalie Tyler Ampe earned his second consecutive shutout of the tournament – holding both of Williston State’s NJCAA championship opponents scoreless.

Tetons freshman forward Tyler Cavan scored the first goal of the game – assisted by freshmen forwards Eric Behrend and Cole Sonstebo – giving Williston State a 1-0 lead with 12:29 remaining in the first period. Williston State went up 2-0 at the 7:38 mark of the second period off freshman forward Trevor Hunt’s goal – assisted by sophomore forward Dario Torres.

Williston State began their championship run with a 7-0 win over Erie (N.Y.) in Saturday’s semifinals. Sonstebo led the Tetons’ offensive effort with two goals and an assist. Ampe recorded seven saves in the shutout.

For his effort in the net, Ampe was named to the all-tournament team. He was joined by Williston State teammates Cavan, Hunt and Sonstebo. The Tribunes rounded out the all-tournament selections with sophomore defensive man Taylor Weilert and freshman forward Dominik Gabaj.

Williston State’s championship victory capped off their season with a record of 15-11-3. The Tribunes dropped to 22-2-1 after suffering only their second loss this season and first since November.

(Courtesy of the NJCAA)

2014 All-Tournament Team

Taylor Weilert- Monroe
Cole Sonstebo- Williston State
Tyler Cavan- Williston State
Trevor Hunt- Williston State
Dominique Gabaj- Monroe
Tyler Ampe- Williston State

2014 Coach of the Tournament

Seamus Gregory-Williston State

2014 MVP

Tyler Ampe- Williston State

CONTACT: Justin Hoyt, (518) 629-7180,
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Saturday, Feb. 22, 2014

Tribunes and Tetons Roll Into Finals

In the first game of the NJCAA National Ice Hockey Tournament, #1 Monroe Community College (22-1-1) defeated #4 Hudson Valley Community College (15-6-1), 10-0.

The Tribunes jumped out to an early 2-0 lead after the first period as Zach Coughlin (Brockport/Hamlin) scored the opening goal and Martin Matejcek (J.Seiferta/Odlolena Voda, CZE) added a powerplay goal. Monroe blew the game open in the second period as Tyler Underhill (St. Francis/Marilla) scored two goals, and Tom Hanna (Niagara Falls/Niagara Falls) and Pavil Kuzmin (Northwoods School/Tver, RUS) each netted a goal. Region III Player of the Year and national points leader Dominik Gabaj (SPSE Zochova/Bratislava, SVK) recorded two goals in the third period, and John Papas (Irondequoit/Rochester) and Andrew Sanders (Liberty/Bakersfield, CA) each tallied a goal to close out the Vikings. Jesse Little (Winslow/Freedom, ME) made six saves on six shots to earn the shutout in goal.

In game two of the national tournament, #2 Williston State (13-11-3) defeated #3 Erie Community College (15-9), 7-0.

The Tetons broke a 0-0 tie in the second period when Tyler Cavan (Mountain Vista/Highlands Ranch, CO) scored with five minutes left in the second. Trevor Hunt (St. Aloysius Gonzaga/Mississauga, ONT) added a shorthanded goal a minute later to take a 2-0 lead into the third. Williston State broke the game open with a pair of goals from Cole Sonstebo (Kennedy/Fergus Falls, MN) in the third. Logan Millican (Bottineau/Bottineau, ND), Eric Behrend (Wanunakee/Madison, WI) and Jarret Stark (San Bernardino/San Bernardino, CA) each added a goal in the third as the Tetons rolled to a 7-0 victory. Tyler Ampe (Hermantown/Hermantown, MN) stopped seven shots in goal to earn the shutout win.

#1 Monroe and #2 Williston State will battle it out tomorrow at 2 p.m. for the National Championship.

CONTACT: Justin Hoyt, (518) 629-7180,
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Friday, Feb. 14, 2014

2014 NJCAA Ice Hockey National Championship

NJCAA TVWatch Video Semifinal #1 (Feb. 22 at 3 p.m.)
Watch Video Semifinal #2 (Feb. 22 at 6:30 p.m.)
Watch Video Championship (Feb. 23 at 2 p.m.)

The NJCAA released the seeding’s for the National Ice Hockey Tournament set for February 22 and 23 at Hudson Valley Community College.

The Monroe Community College Tribunes (18-1-1) earned the #1 seed, going undefeated in the region this year. The Tribunes have the top three scorers in the nation in Martin Matejcek, Dominik Gabaj and Pavel Kuzmin. Defending National Champions, the Williston State Tetons (12-11-4), come in as the #2 seed out of North Dakota, the only team in the tournament not located in the region. The Tetons defeated Monroe last year in the National Championship, 3-2. The Erie Community College Kats (13-9) earn the #3 seed and host, the Hudson Valley Community College Vikings (10-4-1), are the #4 seed for the tournament.

#1 Monroe Community College and #4 Hudson Valley Community College will kick off the Tournament on Saturday, February 22 at 3 p.m. #2 Williston State and #3 Erie Community College will follow with a schedule start time of 6:30 p.m. The winners will square off for a National Championship on Sunday at 2 p.m.

For more information about the NJCAA National Ice Hockey Tournament, please contact the Hudson Valley Community College Athletic Department at (518) 629-7328 or at