News and Events
Media Advisory/Photo Opportunity

Hudson Valley Community College Re-dedicates Raymond H. Siek Campus Center
Building underwent an $8 million renovation in 2005, 2006

CONTACT: Janine Kava (518) 629-8071 or
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2006

WHO: Officials from Hudson Valley Community College and Rensselaer County, and members of Raymond H. Siek’s family.

Re-dedication of the Raymond H. Siek Campus Center, which underwent an extensive, two-year, $8-million renovation project. Originally dedicated in 1973 as part of the college’s 20th anniversary, the building was named in memory of Siek, a member of the college’s Board of Trustees for 13 years, in 1979.

Siek was first appointed to the Board of Trustees in 1965 by Gov. Nelson A. Rockefeller, and then re-appointed by Gov. Malcolm Wilson for a second, nine-year term in 1974. He was the board’s vice chairman at the time of his death, in December 1978.


5:30 p.m. – 7 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 28, 2006
Brief program begins at 6 p.m.


Raymond H. Siek Campus Center
Hudson Valley Community College
80 Vandenburgh Avenue, Troy


The renovation included the near overhaul of the building’s interior, including a new dining area, central staircase, coffee café, and lobby for the Maureen Stapleton Theatre. The building’s exterior slate façade also was replaced with glass, giving the building an open, airy and updated feel.

The building is home to a variety of key student services, including the Center for Careers and Employment, the Center for Counseling and Transfer, the Collegiate Academic Support Program, the Disability Resource Center, the Faculty Student Association, Food Services, Individual Studies and Liberal Arts Advisement, Public Safety, Student Activities, Student Senate and the Viking’s Cove Bookstore.

The building’s redesign was handled by the Troy-based architectural firm Architecture+ in partnership with the Saratoga Associates, and was made possible through funding from the college, New York State and the college’s sponsor, Rensselaer County.