Hudson Valley Softball and Lacrosse Teams Earn NJCAA Academic Award

CONTACT: Steve Mullen (518) 629-8063
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Friday, July 9, 2004

The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) recognized the Hudson Valley Community College softball and lacrosse teams with the Academic Team-of-the-Year Award – given annually to NJCAA member teams with a combined grade point average of 3.0 and above.

The Hudson Valley lacrosse team, which finished the year with an 8-3 record, had a 3.08 combined GPA. Coached by John Meehan, the Vikings were the only lacrosse team in the NJCAA to earn this award in 2004.

The members of the 2004 Hudson Valley lacrosse team were as follows: Jason Bowers (Guilderland), Joseph Coppola (Mechanicville), Eric DeSalvatore (Clifton Park), Andrew Dushensky (Colonie), Andrew Germain (Averill Park), Benjamin Green (Saratoga Springs), Jon Hawe (Chantilly), Don Kozak (Saratoga Springs), Jeff Matarese (East Greenbush), Jon McCardle (Delmar), Jeremy Morris (East Greenbush), Willy Munoz (Clifton Park), Michael Suarez (Slingerlands), Robert Taylor (Ballston Spa), Nicholas Warren (Guilderland), and Joseph Whaley (Schenectady).

The Hudson Valley softball team, coached by Jeff Beyer, finished the 2004 season with a 25-10-1 record and advanced to the Region III championship game. The Lady Vikings earned a 3.03 team GPA, and were one of only 34 teams nationally and two teams in New York State to earn this award.

The members of the 2004 Hudson Valley softball team were as follows: Erin Clemente (Troy), Lindsay Frament (Waterford), Becky Frederick (East Nassau), Stephanie Goodspeed (Lansingburgh), Dana Herchenroder (Voorheesville), Nicole Kinzel (Schenectady), Lauren Krogh (Troy), Nicole Litz (Rotterdam), Mindy McDonough (Lansingburgh), Meg McLoughlin (Troy), Annemarie Nelson (East Greenbush), Reality Price (East Greenbush), Keri Walsh (Bethlehem), Meagan Wilson (Rensselaer), and Samantha Zotto (Troy).