Hudson Valley's Jones and Nesheiwat Named Top Division I-AA Junior College Recruits

CONTACT: Steve Mullen (518) 629-8063
FOR RELEASE: Immediate, Wednesday, February 25, 2004

"The Sports Network" has tabbed Hudson Valley Community College sophomore football players Ernest Jones (Bronx/Lehman High School) and Jawad Nesheiwat (Poughkeepsie/Arlington High School) as the top two junior college transfers to NCAA Division I-AA schools during the 2004 signing period.

Jones, a defensive end, will attend Tennessee State University. Nesheiwat will play tight end at Western Carolina University

"I-AA is tremendously fortunate to welcome a pair of highly sought-after players in Ernest Jones and J.J. Nesheiwat to its ranks this season," said Tony Moss, the Executive Director of I-AA Football at "The Sports Network." "Hudson Valley Community College has consistently developed players for success at the I-AA level, and I would expect Jones and Nesheiwat to continue in that legacy."

"The Sports Network" is widely regarded as the nation's leading media source for NCAA Division I-AA football. The organization produces a weekly top-25 poll and annually hands out the Walter Payton Award, given to the nation's most outstanding player, the Buck Buchanan Award, given to the country's top defensive player, and the Eddie Robinson Award, rewarded to the nation's top coach.

"The Sports Network's" Top Junior College Transfers to NCAA Division I-AA Colleges
1. Ernest Jones, DT, Tennessee State (6-2, 310, Hudson Valley CC)
2. J.J. Nesheiwat, TE, Western Carolina (6-3, 250, Hudson Valley CC)
3. Eddie Smith, CB, Montana State (5-9, 185, San Mateo JC)
4. Jerry Little, OL, Stephen F. Austin (6-8, 325, Tyler JC)
5. DeSean Hammons, WR, Murray State (6-0, 190, Butler County CC)
6. Shawn Huntsinger, OL, Charleston Southern (6-3, 275, College of the Canyons)
7. David Jackson, LB, Southwest Missouri State (6-1, 245, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M)
8. Dustin Schroader, DE, Idaho State (6-5, 270, Snow College)
9. Edmund Pringle, DB, Texas State (5-11, 190, Iowa Central CC)
10. Charles Manigo, FS, Portland State (6-2, 200, College of the Canyons)